So You Want To Become an OverPower Judge? Think you’ve got what it takes to wield absolute power over rules disputes, table chaos, and player egos — all while keeping your sanity? Welcome to the OverPower Judge Test, where your encyclopedic knowledge of card interactions meets your ability to herd cats in cosplay. This isn’t just about knowing what happens when Sabretooth stares down John Carter with a Special and a dream — it’s about judgment, fairness, and the kind of confidence that comes from years of arguing over turn order on forums. Pass this test, and you don’t just get bragging rights — you become part of the elite few who can say, “Actually, that’s not how that works” with authority. Let’s see if you’re rules-savvy enough to make Magneto sit down and shut up. Please Fill out the form with the first and last name, as well as your username and email associated to your account on the play network. 1 / 20 1. I have a Level 6 to use, Level 4 Combat Teamwork card. I must make at least 1, and can make up 2 legal follow-up Power card attacks. How do I make these attacks? Declare them all at 1 time, and declare all the attacks’ targets. Declare them all at 1 time, but you can decide where to attack after the Opponent decides what to defense. Declare each attack (and its target) 1 at a time, giving the Opponent the ability to defend each attack 1 at a time. Declare each attack 1 at a time, but the target is not declared until AFTER the attack crosses the astral plane. 2 / 20 2. John Carter has been KO’d during this Battle Phase. The player plays Dejah Thoris’ “Draw 3 cards. Discard duplicates” Special card. They draw a John Carter Special card as 1 of their 3 cards. Can they keep the card? No, the card is currently unusable Yes. You only discard cards for KO Characters that starter the current battle KO'd. 3 / 20 3. A player attacks with Count of Monte Cristo’s Special card Network of Thieves which reads “Acts as a level 6 Intelligence Attack. If successful target character must discard 2 cards of Opponent’s choice. Cards may be placed to target or in hand. “ If successful, the attack would spectrum KO the character. Can the Opponent discard 2 cards placed to the character before the character is KO’d, or does the KO occur first? The KO occurs first, and they cannot discard the 2 cards placed. Checking for KO is a process that is constantly happening. The Opponent can discard the 2 cards placed first. Checking for KO is a process that occurs after each card played is resolved. The discard effect of Count’s Special card is resolved, then we check characters for KO. The Opponent cannot discard the 2 cards placed first. That would be unfair and is not the intent of Count of Monte Cristo’s card. It is the Count of Monte Cristo’s choice whether the Opponent can do so. 4 / 20 4. A player has 4 Objectives in the Completed Objectives Pile, 1 in Reserve, 2 in Defeated. May they venture 2 Objectives out of the Completed Pile? Yes they can. To move 2 mission from Defeated Pile to the Reserve Pile (if they win). Yes they can. To move 1 mission from the Defeated Pile to the Completed Pile (if they win). A and B No, they cannot venture 2 from the Completed Objective Pile in this scenario. 5 / 20 5. Cthulu has a 7 Intelligence Power Grid and his Inherent reads that he may “Play Intelligence teamwork cards from reserve”. If the player has a Level 7 to use, 6 Any-Power Teamwork in hand, may Cthulu play this Teamwork from reserve? No, he cannot. Because Cthulu’s inherent requires a teamwork with an Intelligence icon. Yes, he can. Because his Intelligence Grid is 7 and the Teamwork is 7 to use, so Cthulu’s Intelligence grid is enough for the Teamwork to “Act as” intelligence No, he cannot. Because Any-Power Teamworks do not use a character’s grid. Only if an event changes the Any-Power icon on the teamwork card to Intelligence. 6 / 20 6. The Wicked Witch of the West has her Special Aquaphobic in play, which reads, “No Universe Cards may be played against Wicked Witch for remainder of battle”. The Opponent attacks her with a Power Card. Can she play the Any Character “Fairy Protection” Any Character may not be attacked for remainder of battle? No, Wicked Witch already has a partial lockout in play, and Fairy Protection would be partially redundant. Yes, but the No Universe Cards Special would be discarded to the Dead Pile. Yes, and both effects would stay attached (paper-clipped) to Wicked Witch. None of the above. 7 / 20 7. Zeus is attacked by an 8 Combat Power card, and defends himself with the “Fairy Protection” Any Character Special cards which reads he may not be attacked for remainder of battle. Zeus then immediately and successfully attacks with a Lightning Bolt Special card, whose secondary effect is that Zeus may not be defended by Special cards for remainder of game. Can the opponent now attack Zeus again? Yes, since Zeus may not be defended by special cards, the Fairy Protection is ignored. Yes, since Zeus may not be defended by special cards, the Fairy Protection is discard from play. No, Fairy Protection, while played as a defense, is already in play and the act of it being in play doesn’t constitute a defense. No, to any extent the 2 cards could be viewed to conflict, both are the same class (Special card) and Fairy Protection was played first, which gives it priority. Both C and D apply 8 / 20 8. Your Opponent is already playing Open Handed do to another card effect. You have Dr. Watson’s “Not a Bad Detective” in your hand. Can you still play this? No, because the effect would be redundant Yes, the rulebook states that seemingly redundant effects can be played and still take effect. None of the above 9 / 20 9. A players plays a card that allows them to look at their draw pile while fetching a card. During this process, they notice 3 of their level 6 Power Cards all clumped together. Can they space them out? While unfortunate, those cards being clumped together was a natural random outcome of their prior pile shuffling completed in from of Opponent. They should leave them alone If they shuffle the pile properly after looking at the draw pile, it will re-randomize the deck anyway. They should leave these level 6 power cards alone. Any efforts to avoid random outcomes post shuffling outside of playing cards allowing you to change your deck order (example: Professor Moriarty’s “Future Plans” or Merlin’s inherent ability) is frowned upon and could be penalized by judges All of the above. 10 / 20 10. My opponent attacks me with Captain Nemo’s “Weapons of Wrath and Hatred” which is a level 10 Energy Attack. How may I defend this? With a legally playable Level 5 Power Card and a +4 Training card. With a legally playable level 4 MultiPower Card, a +3 basic Universe Card, and a +4 Training card. With a legally playable level 6 AnyPower Card, a +3 basic Universe Card, and a Special card which grants a +2 Bonus to defense. With a Special card which reads “avoid 1 Non-Numerical attack”. 11 / 20 11. I play a “Draw 3 Cards. Discard Duplicates,” Special card. My Opponent plays a defensive negate while my Draw 3 is in the Astral plane. What may I do to counter this? Nothing. I cannot interrupt my Opponent’s defensive actions(s) unless a card explicitly has that special ability. Play a negate offensively to counter my opponent’s negate. Play a negative defensively to counter my opponent’s negate. None of the above. 12 / 20 12. The Opponent successfully plays Poseidon’s Special which makes you discard 7 cards from top of Draw Pile to the Dead Pile. One of the 5 is an Any Character Special card. Where is it discarded to? It is discarded to the Defeated Characters Pile, which is where Any Character Specials are normally discarded to. It is discarded to the Dead Pile, as that is what pile the Poseidon card specifies. It is discarded to the Defeated Characters Pile, because the Order of Operations states the OverPower base rules trump special cards that are played. None of the above 13 / 20 13. When offensively playing cards, which of the following steps is NOT taken? Cards are played from placed and/or in hand to the astral plane Cards are played from placed and/or in hand directly to the target characters across the table Targets for attacks are declared in the astral plane The Opponent is given a chance to negate any cards while they are in the astral plane 14 / 20 14. A player attacks with the Any-Homebase card “Supay” which acts as a level 4 Brute Force attack. In response, the Opponent may: Avoid 1 attack with a Bruce Force Icon Avoid 1 Brute Force Attack Negate the effect of 1 special card played by Opponent A and B All of the above 15 / 20 15. I have 1 character currently left on my front-line, and 1 in reserve. The Opponent successfully plays a “Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle” Can I then play an Any Character Special card attack on my next turn? Yes, the attack comes from “Any Character”, and no character in particular. Yes, when you play an Any Character special you put any character’s name in place of the text “Any Character”. While my front line character is “pinned”, my reserve character could still play this card. No. When you play an Any-Character Special you must put a character’s name in place of the text “Any-Character”. While my only front-line character is “pinned”, I no longer have a character than can legally play the any-character attack. Yes. The Any Character special attacks come from the homebase, not a hero. 16 / 20 16. I have a Special Card which reads “Acts as a Level 4 Energy attack. May make 1 additional attack,” in hand. Which of these cards can follow it up as a legal follow-up attack? Ally card Teamwork card A Power Card playable by the character An Aspect card from the ERB Set of cards 17 / 20 17. Your opponent attacks you with a level 8 Energy Power card attack and plays it alongside Sherriff of Nottingham’s Taxes Special card which reads “Opponent’s Team is -2 to all actions for the remainder”. You play a negate while the attack is in the Astral Plane. Does this defend the 8 Energy Power card attack? It does defend the 8 Energy Power Card, because the 8 Energy Power Card and the -2 to all actions are a combined attack. It does defend the 8 Energy Power Card, because the -2 to all actions binds to 8 Energy Power Card and if you stop one, you stop both. It does not. Because you cannot negate the -2 to all actions before the attack crosses the Astral Plane It does not. Because negating the effect of the -2 to all actions ONLY stops the Special card and the associated bonus/minus from occurring. The 8 Energy Power card attack still exits the astral plane and the opponent can still defend it. 18 / 20 18. I have 1 character currently left on my front line, and 1 in reserve. The Opponent successfully plays a “Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle” Special card on my front-line Character. Can I play an any-homebase attack such as “Isis” or “Cheshire Cat”? No, the attack comes from a Character using your homebase, and you do not have a legal character to play it. Yes, when you play an Any-homebase special you put any character’s name in place of the text “Any-homebase”. However, while my front-line character is “pinned”, my reserve character could still play this card. No. When you play an Any-homebase Special you have to put a character’s name in play of the text “Any-homebase”. While my front-line character is “pinned”, I no longer have a character than can legally play the any-character attack. Yes. The Any-homebase Aspect card attack comes from the homebase, not a hero. 19 / 20 19. An Opponent’s character may not attack for remainder of battle. That character has a non-numerical, non-targeted Special card that affects the Opponent. Can the Character play that special card? Yes, because attacks are only cards which are numerical and can be used to attack or cards that target a hero. No, because if a card affects the Opponent, it is an attack No, because a “pin” which states a Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle” also prohibits the character from playing any Special cards offensively. Yes, because attacks are always only numerical in nature. 20 / 20 20. Zeus’ Inherent Ability reads that he cannot play Energy Teamwork cards. The player has a level 7 to use, 6 Any-Power teamwork in hand. May Zeus play this teamwork? Yes, he can. Because Any-Power Teamworks do not use a character’s grid. No, he cannot. Because Any-Power Teamworks do not have an Energy Icon. No, he cannot. Zeus’ Energy Grid is 8 and his Brute Force Grid is 6. The teamwork is 7 to use so Zeus cannot play it through his Brute Force Grid and even though his Energy Grid is an 8, his Inherent Ability keeps him from playing it through is Energy Grid. Only if an event changes the teamwork’s Any-Power Icon to a Brute Force Icon. Your score isThe average score is 78% 0% Download PDF By Wordpress Quiz plugin
So You Want To Become an OverPower Judge?
Think you’ve got what it takes to wield absolute power over rules disputes, table chaos, and player egos — all while keeping your sanity? Welcome to the OverPower Judge Test, where your encyclopedic knowledge of card interactions meets your ability to herd cats in cosplay.
This isn’t just about knowing what happens when Sabretooth stares down John Carter with a Special and a dream — it’s about judgment, fairness, and the kind of confidence that comes from years of arguing over turn order on forums. Pass this test, and you don’t just get bragging rights — you become part of the elite few who can say, “Actually, that’s not how that works” with authority.
Let’s see if you’re rules-savvy enough to make Magneto sit down and shut up.
Please Fill out the form with the first and last name, as well as your username and email associated to your account on the play network.
1 / 20
1. I have a Level 6 to use, Level 4 Combat Teamwork card. I must make at least 1, and can make up 2 legal follow-up Power card attacks. How do I make these attacks?
2 / 20
2. John Carter has been KO’d during this Battle Phase. The player plays Dejah Thoris’ “Draw 3 cards. Discard duplicates” Special card. They draw a John Carter Special card as 1 of their 3 cards. Can they keep the card?
3 / 20
3. A player attacks with Count of Monte Cristo’s Special card Network of Thieves which reads “Acts as a level 6 Intelligence Attack. If successful target character must discard 2 cards of Opponent’s choice. Cards may be placed to target or in hand. “ If successful, the attack would spectrum KO the character. Can the Opponent discard 2 cards placed to the character before the character is KO’d, or does the KO occur first?
4 / 20
4. A player has 4 Objectives in the Completed Objectives Pile, 1 in Reserve, 2 in Defeated. May they venture 2 Objectives out of the Completed Pile?
5 / 20
5. Cthulu has a 7 Intelligence Power Grid and his Inherent reads that he may “Play Intelligence teamwork cards from reserve”. If the player has a Level 7 to use, 6 Any-Power Teamwork in hand, may Cthulu play this Teamwork from reserve?
6 / 20
6. The Wicked Witch of the West has her Special Aquaphobic in play, which reads, “No Universe Cards may be played against Wicked Witch for remainder of battle”. The Opponent attacks her with a Power Card. Can she play the Any Character “Fairy Protection” Any Character may not be attacked for remainder of battle?
7 / 20
7. Zeus is attacked by an 8 Combat Power card, and defends himself with the “Fairy Protection” Any Character Special cards which reads he may not be attacked for remainder of battle. Zeus then immediately and successfully attacks with a Lightning Bolt Special card, whose secondary effect is that Zeus may not be defended by Special cards for remainder of game. Can the opponent now attack Zeus again?
8 / 20
8. Your Opponent is already playing Open Handed do to another card effect. You have Dr. Watson’s “Not a Bad Detective” in your hand. Can you still play this?
9 / 20
9. A players plays a card that allows them to look at their draw pile while fetching a card. During this process, they notice 3 of their level 6 Power Cards all clumped together. Can they space them out?
10 / 20
10. My opponent attacks me with Captain Nemo’s “Weapons of Wrath and Hatred” which is a level 10 Energy Attack. How may I defend this?
11 / 20
11. I play a “Draw 3 Cards. Discard Duplicates,” Special card. My Opponent plays a defensive negate while my Draw 3 is in the Astral plane. What may I do to counter this?
12 / 20
12. The Opponent successfully plays Poseidon’s Special which makes you discard 7 cards from top of Draw Pile to the Dead Pile. One of the 5 is an Any Character Special card. Where is it discarded to?
13 / 20
13. When offensively playing cards, which of the following steps is NOT taken?
14 / 20
14. A player attacks with the Any-Homebase card “Supay” which acts as a level 4 Brute Force attack. In response, the Opponent may:
15 / 20
15. I have 1 character currently left on my front-line, and 1 in reserve. The Opponent successfully plays a “Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle” Can I then play an Any Character Special card attack on my next turn?
16 / 20
16. I have a Special Card which reads “Acts as a Level 4 Energy attack. May make 1 additional attack,” in hand. Which of these cards can follow it up as a legal follow-up attack?
17 / 20
17. Your opponent attacks you with a level 8 Energy Power card attack and plays it alongside Sherriff of Nottingham’s Taxes Special card which reads “Opponent’s Team is -2 to all actions for the remainder”. You play a negate while the attack is in the Astral Plane. Does this defend the 8 Energy Power card attack?
18 / 20
18. I have 1 character currently left on my front line, and 1 in reserve. The Opponent successfully plays a “Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle” Special card on my front-line Character. Can I play an any-homebase attack such as “Isis” or “Cheshire Cat”?
19 / 20
19. An Opponent’s character may not attack for remainder of battle. That character has a non-numerical, non-targeted Special card that affects the Opponent. Can the Character play that special card?
20 / 20
20. Zeus’ Inherent Ability reads that he cannot play Energy Teamwork cards. The player has a level 7 to use, 6 Any-Power teamwork in hand. May Zeus play this teamwork?
Your score is
The average score is 78%