So You Want To Become an OverPower Judge? Think you’ve got what it takes to wield absolute power over rules disputes, table chaos, and player egos — all while keeping your sanity? Welcome to the OverPower Judge Test, where your encyclopedic knowledge of card interactions meets your ability to herd cats in cosplay. This isn’t just about knowing what happens when Sabretooth stares down John Carter with a Special and a dream — it’s about judgment, fairness, and the kind of confidence that comes from years of arguing over turn order on forums. Pass this test, and you don’t just get bragging rights — you become part of the elite few who can say, “Actually, that’s not how that works” with authority. Let’s see if you’re rules-savvy enough to make Magneto sit down and shut up. Please Fill out the form with the first and last name, as well as your username and email associated to your account on the play network. 1 / 20 1. A player has 4 Objectives in the Completed Objectives pile, 2 in Reserve, 1 in Defeated. May they venture 2 Objectives out of the Completed pile? Yes they can. To move 1 mission from the defeated pile to the completed pile (if they win). Yes they can. To move 2 missions from reserve pile to the completed pile (if they win). A and B No, they cannot venture 2 from Completed Objectives Pile in this scenario. 2 / 20 2. Ra plays his Advanced Universe card “Staff Head”. The Opponent has a negate a Special card in their hand. Can they negate Staff Head? Yes they can, because a Negate allows you to Negate any 1 card regardless of card class. Yes they can, because Staff Head is owned by Ra, and therefore must be a Special card. No, it cannot because “Staff head” is an Advanced Universe Card, not a Special card. Yes it can, due to Special errata for this card. 3 / 20 3. Cthulu has a 7 Intelligence Power Grid and his Inherent reads that he may “Play Intelligence teamwork cards from reserve”. If the player has a Level 7 to use, 6 Any-Power Teamwork in hand, may Cthulu play this Teamwork from reserve? No, he cannot. Because Cthulu’s inherent requires a teamwork with an Intelligence icon. Yes, he can. Because his Intelligence Grid is 7 and the Teamwork is 7 to use, so Cthulu’s Intelligence grid is enough for the Teamwork to “Act as” intelligence No, he cannot. Because Any-Power Teamworks do not use a character’s grid. Only if an event changes the Any-Power icon on the teamwork card to Intelligence. 4 / 20 4. What is a sufficient level of shuffling to be completed in front of the Opponent before a match begins? 7 Riffle shuffles A pile shuffle (face down) with 3-8 piles used, followed by additional shuffling. A or B You do not have to shuffle in front of your opponent 5 / 20 5. Zeus has successfully hit a Character with a “Lightning Bolt” Special which reads, “ Acts as a level 9 Energy attack. If successful, Zeus and Zeus’ teammates may not defend Zeus with Special cards for remainder of game,” in a previous battle. The Opponent now uses a remove 1 hit from permanent record to remove the Lighting Bolt hit. Is Zeus still affected by the negative secondary effect on him? No, because the card generates the effect and removing it removes it from the board. Yes, because Zeus’ Lightning Bolt has the function icons “Slash” and “Astral Plane”, letting you know this conditional effect should live on in the Astral Plane, even if removed as a hit. Only if a negate was used to remove the Lighting Bolt off a character, which would NOT negate the secondary effect. B and C 6 / 20 6. My opponent attacks me with Captain Nemo’s “Weapons of Wrath and Hatred” which is a level 10 Energy Attack. How may I defend this? With a legally playable Level 5 Power Card and a +4 Training card. With a legally playable level 4 MultiPower Card, a +3 basic Universe Card, and a +4 Training card. With a legally playable level 6 AnyPower Card, a +3 basic Universe Card, and a Special card which grants a +2 Bonus to defense. With a Special card which reads “avoid 1 Non-Numerical attack”. 7 / 20 7. John Carter has been KO’d during this Battle Phase. The player plays Dejah Thoris’ “Draw 3 cards. Discard duplicates” Special card. They draw a John Carter Special card as 1 of their 3 cards. Can they keep the card? No, the card is currently unusable Yes. You only discard cards for KO Characters that starter the current battle KO'd. 8 / 20 8. A player is using Asclepeion as their homebase. They play a card that removes a hit from a character’s permanent record. Which of the following are legal actions to take using the Free attack granted by Asclepeion? Playing an ally card Playing a teamwork card A and B None of the above 9 / 20 9. A players plays a card that allows them to look at their draw pile while fetching a card. During this process, they notice 3 of their level 6 Power Cards all clumped together. Can they space them out? While unfortunate, those cards being clumped together was a natural random outcome of their prior pile shuffling completed in from of Opponent. They should leave them alone If they shuffle the pile properly after looking at the draw pile, it will re-randomize the deck anyway. They should leave these level 6 power cards alone. Any efforts to avoid random outcomes post shuffling outside of playing cards allowing you to change your deck order (example: Professor Moriarty’s “Future Plans” or Merlin’s inherent ability) is frowned upon and could be penalized by judges All of the above. 10 / 20 10. Zeus is attacked by an 8 Combat Power card, and defends himself with the “Fairy Protection” Any Character Special cards which reads he may not be attacked for remainder of battle. Zeus then immediately and successfully attacks with a Lightning Bolt Special card, whose secondary effect is that Zeus may not be defended by Special cards for remainder of game. Can the opponent now attack Zeus again? Yes, since Zeus may not be defended by special cards, the Fairy Protection is ignored. Yes, since Zeus may not be defended by special cards, the Fairy Protection is discard from play. No, Fairy Protection, while played as a defense, is already in play and the act of it being in play doesn’t constitute a defense. No, to any extent the 2 cards could be viewed to conflict, both are the same class (Special card) and Fairy Protection was played first, which gives it priority. Both C and D apply 11 / 20 11. I have a Special Card which reads “Acts as a Level 4 Energy attack. May make 1 additional attack,” in hand. Which of these cards can follow it up as a legal follow-up attack? Ally card Teamwork card A Power Card playable by the character An Aspect card from the ERB Set of cards 12 / 20 12. I have 1 character currently left on my front line, and 1 in reserve. The Opponent successfully plays a “Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle” Special card on my front-line Character. Can I play an any-homebase attack such as “Isis” or “Cheshire Cat”? No, the attack comes from a Character using your homebase, and you do not have a legal character to play it. Yes, when you play an Any-homebase special you put any character’s name in place of the text “Any-homebase”. However, while my front-line character is “pinned”, my reserve character could still play this card. No. When you play an Any-homebase Special you have to put a character’s name in play of the text “Any-homebase”. While my front-line character is “pinned”, I no longer have a character than can legally play the any-character attack. Yes. The Any-homebase Aspect card attack comes from the homebase, not a hero. 13 / 20 13. An Opponent’s character may not attack for remainder of battle. That character has a non-numerical, non-targeted Special card that affects the Opponent. Can the Character play that special card? Yes, because attacks are only cards which are numerical and can be used to attack or cards that target a hero. No, because if a card affects the Opponent, it is an attack No, because a “pin” which states a Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle” also prohibits the character from playing any Special cards offensively. Yes, because attacks are always only numerical in nature. 14 / 20 14. The Opponent successfully plays Poseidon’s Special which makes you discard 7 cards from top of Draw Pile to the Dead Pile. One of the 5 is an Any Character Special card. Where is it discarded to? It is discarded to the Defeated Characters Pile, which is where Any Character Specials are normally discarded to. It is discarded to the Dead Pile, as that is what pile the Poseidon card specifies. It is discarded to the Defeated Characters Pile, because the Order of Operations states the OverPower base rules trump special cards that are played. None of the above 15 / 20 15. A player attacks with the Any-Homebase card “Supay” which acts as a level 4 Brute Force attack. In response, the Opponent may: Avoid 1 attack with a Bruce Force Icon Avoid 1 Brute Force Attack Negate the effect of 1 special card played by Opponent A and B All of the above 16 / 20 16. When offensively playing cards, which of the following steps is NOT taken? Cards are played from placed and/or in hand to the astral plane Cards are played from placed and/or in hand directly to the target characters across the table Targets for attacks are declared in the astral plane The Opponent is given a chance to negate any cards while they are in the astral plane 17 / 20 17. Your opponent attacks you with a level 8 Energy Power card attack and plays it alongside Sherriff of Nottingham’s Taxes Special card which reads “Opponent’s Team is -2 to all actions for the remainder”. You play a negate while the attack is in the Astral Plane. Does this defend the 8 Energy Power card attack? It does defend the 8 Energy Power Card, because the 8 Energy Power Card and the -2 to all actions are a combined attack. It does defend the 8 Energy Power Card, because the -2 to all actions binds to 8 Energy Power Card and if you stop one, you stop both. It does not. Because you cannot negate the -2 to all actions before the attack crosses the Astral Plane It does not. Because negating the effect of the -2 to all actions ONLY stops the Special card and the associated bonus/minus from occurring. The 8 Energy Power card attack still exits the astral plane and the opponent can still defend it. 18 / 20 18. I have 1 character currently left on my front-line, and 1 in reserve. The Opponent successfully plays a “Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle” Can I then play an Any Character Special card attack on my next turn? Yes, the attack comes from “Any Character”, and no character in particular. Yes, when you play an Any Character special you put any character’s name in place of the text “Any Character”. While my front line character is “pinned”, my reserve character could still play this card. No. When you play an Any-Character Special you must put a character’s name in place of the text “Any-Character”. While my only front-line character is “pinned”, I no longer have a character than can legally play the any-character attack. Yes. The Any Character special attacks come from the homebase, not a hero. 19 / 20 19. Zeus’ Inherent Ability reads that he cannot play Energy Teamwork cards. The player has a level 7 to use, 6 Any-Power teamwork in hand. May Zeus play this teamwork? Yes, he can. Because Any-Power Teamworks do not use a character’s grid. No, he cannot. Because Any-Power Teamworks do not have an Energy Icon. No, he cannot. Zeus’ Energy Grid is 8 and his Brute Force Grid is 6. The teamwork is 7 to use so Zeus cannot play it through his Brute Force Grid and even though his Energy Grid is an 8, his Inherent Ability keeps him from playing it through is Energy Grid. Only if an event changes the teamwork’s Any-Power Icon to a Brute Force Icon. 20 / 20 20. I play a “Draw 3 Cards. Discard Duplicates,” Special card. My Opponent plays a defensive negate while my Draw 3 is in the Astral plane. What may I do to counter this? Nothing. I cannot interrupt my Opponent’s defensive actions(s) unless a card explicitly has that special ability. Play a negate offensively to counter my opponent’s negate. Play a negative defensively to counter my opponent’s negate. None of the above. Your score isThe average score is 81% 0% Download PDF By Wordpress Quiz plugin
So You Want To Become an OverPower Judge?
Think you’ve got what it takes to wield absolute power over rules disputes, table chaos, and player egos — all while keeping your sanity? Welcome to the OverPower Judge Test, where your encyclopedic knowledge of card interactions meets your ability to herd cats in cosplay.
This isn’t just about knowing what happens when Sabretooth stares down John Carter with a Special and a dream — it’s about judgment, fairness, and the kind of confidence that comes from years of arguing over turn order on forums. Pass this test, and you don’t just get bragging rights — you become part of the elite few who can say, “Actually, that’s not how that works” with authority.
Let’s see if you’re rules-savvy enough to make Magneto sit down and shut up.
Please Fill out the form with the first and last name, as well as your username and email associated to your account on the play network.
1 / 20
1. A player has 4 Objectives in the Completed Objectives pile, 2 in Reserve, 1 in Defeated. May they venture 2 Objectives out of the Completed pile?
2 / 20
2. Ra plays his Advanced Universe card “Staff Head”. The Opponent has a negate a Special card in their hand. Can they negate Staff Head?
3 / 20
3. Cthulu has a 7 Intelligence Power Grid and his Inherent reads that he may “Play Intelligence teamwork cards from reserve”. If the player has a Level 7 to use, 6 Any-Power Teamwork in hand, may Cthulu play this Teamwork from reserve?
4 / 20
4. What is a sufficient level of shuffling to be completed in front of the Opponent before a match begins?
5 / 20
5. Zeus has successfully hit a Character with a “Lightning Bolt” Special which reads, “ Acts as a level 9 Energy attack. If successful, Zeus and Zeus’ teammates may not defend Zeus with Special cards for remainder of game,” in a previous battle. The Opponent now uses a remove 1 hit from permanent record to remove the Lighting Bolt hit. Is Zeus still affected by the negative secondary effect on him?
6 / 20
6. My opponent attacks me with Captain Nemo’s “Weapons of Wrath and Hatred” which is a level 10 Energy Attack. How may I defend this?
7 / 20
7. John Carter has been KO’d during this Battle Phase. The player plays Dejah Thoris’ “Draw 3 cards. Discard duplicates” Special card. They draw a John Carter Special card as 1 of their 3 cards. Can they keep the card?
8 / 20
8. A player is using Asclepeion as their homebase. They play a card that removes a hit from a character’s permanent record. Which of the following are legal actions to take using the Free attack granted by Asclepeion?
9 / 20
9. A players plays a card that allows them to look at their draw pile while fetching a card. During this process, they notice 3 of their level 6 Power Cards all clumped together. Can they space them out?
10 / 20
10. Zeus is attacked by an 8 Combat Power card, and defends himself with the “Fairy Protection” Any Character Special cards which reads he may not be attacked for remainder of battle. Zeus then immediately and successfully attacks with a Lightning Bolt Special card, whose secondary effect is that Zeus may not be defended by Special cards for remainder of game. Can the opponent now attack Zeus again?
11 / 20
11. I have a Special Card which reads “Acts as a Level 4 Energy attack. May make 1 additional attack,” in hand. Which of these cards can follow it up as a legal follow-up attack?
12 / 20
12. I have 1 character currently left on my front line, and 1 in reserve. The Opponent successfully plays a “Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle” Special card on my front-line Character. Can I play an any-homebase attack such as “Isis” or “Cheshire Cat”?
13 / 20
13. An Opponent’s character may not attack for remainder of battle. That character has a non-numerical, non-targeted Special card that affects the Opponent. Can the Character play that special card?
14 / 20
14. The Opponent successfully plays Poseidon’s Special which makes you discard 7 cards from top of Draw Pile to the Dead Pile. One of the 5 is an Any Character Special card. Where is it discarded to?
15 / 20
15. A player attacks with the Any-Homebase card “Supay” which acts as a level 4 Brute Force attack. In response, the Opponent may:
16 / 20
16. When offensively playing cards, which of the following steps is NOT taken?
17 / 20
17. Your opponent attacks you with a level 8 Energy Power card attack and plays it alongside Sherriff of Nottingham’s Taxes Special card which reads “Opponent’s Team is -2 to all actions for the remainder”. You play a negate while the attack is in the Astral Plane. Does this defend the 8 Energy Power card attack?
18 / 20
18. I have 1 character currently left on my front-line, and 1 in reserve. The Opponent successfully plays a “Target Character may not attack for remainder of battle” Can I then play an Any Character Special card attack on my next turn?
19 / 20
19. Zeus’ Inherent Ability reads that he cannot play Energy Teamwork cards. The player has a level 7 to use, 6 Any-Power teamwork in hand. May Zeus play this teamwork?
20 / 20
20. I play a “Draw 3 Cards. Discard Duplicates,” Special card. My Opponent plays a defensive negate while my Draw 3 is in the Astral plane. What may I do to counter this?
Your score is
The average score is 81%